This database, created and maintained by the UW Population Health Institute, is a summary of a wide scan of research to find evidence of effectiveness for policies and programs that address the multiple drivers of health that, in turn, affect our health outcomes.
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
A good resource to find literature in allied health (Nursing, OT, PT, Sports Medicine, et.) and complementary and alternative medicine. Results can be limited to individual studies and trials by applying “Randomized Controlled Trials” or the Clinical Queries filters.
Containing over 390,000 records, POPLINE has facilitated thousands of comprehensive literature reviews, delivered nearly 500,000 full-text documents to requesters in low- and middle-income countries, and provided 50,000 links to a diverse array of open-access documents.
Google Scholar results now include links to UW-Madison Library resources. These links will appear automatically if you search from an on-campus computer or use the link above; otherwise, off-campus you must go to "Scholar Preferences" and search for "University of Wisconsin-Madison"
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Reviews of Effects (DARE), and more.
The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.
The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services includes U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on screening, counseling, and preventive medication topics and includes clinical considerations for each topic.
TRIP Database searches over 75 sites of high-quality medical information, providing you with direct, hyperlinked access to the largest collection of 'evidence-based' material on the web as well as articles from premier on-line journals
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.