Full Library Hours
Publications Implementation: October 2014
Starting October 1, 2014, the DOE will begin to include requirements for the submission of accepted manuscripts and publication metadata in award agreements.
Data Implementation: October 2014 for Office of Science funding. October 2015 for other DOE offices and elements.
Starting October 1, 2014, data management plan requirements will be included in all invitations and solicitation for research funding issued by the Office of Science. Other DOE Offices and elements will implement data management plan requirements no later than October 1, 2015. The result will be a Department-wide policy.
FundRef will be the primary tool for identifying the full universe of accepted manuscripts that PAGES should contain for a given year
Data sharing compliance:
The DMP is part of the overall research proposal and, as such, it is expected that researchers will follow, to the best of their ability, the proposed research and associated data management plan. Failure to do so will negatively influence future funding opportunities. Furthermore, current oversight of grants and other financial assistance allows for withholding or adjustment of funds at the end of each performance period. Further input from the research communities will be solicited through Federal Advisory Committees and during workshops sponsored by the agency to assess the impact of the proposed DMP requirements and ensure compliance with agreed DMPs.
Additional compliance monitoring:
On a daily basis, DOE will perform random sampling of PAGES content to monitor individual content holders, publishers for articles and laboratories or institutions for manuscripts, for compliance with applicable standards. In cases where externally held content does not meet these standards, DOE will instead link to corresponding content held in its dark archive of accepted manuscripts.
Publication Repository: Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (PAGES) will act as a portal for metadata, abstracts and links to either the version of record on the publisher's website or the accepted manuscript hosted in an institutional repository. In cases where the full text is not publicly accessible through publisher or institutional repositories, the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) will host the accepted manuscript, submitted by the author, available through PAGES.
Data Repository: Open Energy Information Platform (OpenEI) for limited restricted data. Subject matter specific repositories are recommended, such as BioEnergy Knowledge Discovery Framework (KDF) and the National Geothermal Data System (NGDS).
12 months for publications. During an “administrative interval” of up to twelve months, PAGES will not provide access to full-text manuscripts. During this time, metadata including links to the publishers’ version of record (VoR) will be discoverable through the PAGES search interface and via PAGES application programming interfaces (APIs). After one year, PAGES will link to a full text version of the accepted manuscript and then link to the publisher’s VoR when and if it becomes available.
Where can I find the full Public Access Policy?
Does this agency require a data management plan (DMP)?
Yes. To integrate data management planning into the overall research plan, the DOE will ensure that all research proposals selected for funding include a Data Management Plan (DMP).
The merits of the DMPs will be evaluated. This evaluation will take into account the relative values of long-term preservation and access and the associated cost and administrative burden. Additional requirements and review criteria for the DMP may be identified by the sponsoring Office, program, subprogram, or in the solicitation.
How do I comply with the public access policy and submit a publication?
To ensure long-term preservation and access, all DOE-funded authors will be required to submit accepted manuscript metadata to OSTI along with a document or link to a publicly accessible, full text version of the accepted manuscript available on an institutional repository.
The Department proposes to host a portal, PAGES, which will provide metadata and abstracts for publications resulting from DOE funding. In cases where the publisher’s VoR is publicly available, PAGES will direct the user to this VoR with a direct link to the publisher’s website. In cases where the publisher does not provide public access, PAGES will direct the reader to the accepted manuscript hosted in an institutional repository (e.g. at a national laboratory or grantee institution) with a link provided by the author. In cases where the full text is not publicly accessible through publisher or institutional repositories, OSTI will host the accepted manuscript, submitted by the author, available through PAGES.
Ebling Library, Health Sciences Learning Center
750 Highland Ave, Madison, WI 53705-2221
Copyright © 2001 - 2016, The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System