Skip to main content

Full Library Hours
Available Equipment
Contact Us

Complementary and Alternative Medicine: Databases

Top CAM Databases

PubMed: use CAM subset

PubMed is a web-based interface to MEDLINE, the pre-eminent health sciences database of journal articles. PubMed covers 4800 journals in all levels and disciplines of the health sciences. In addition, UW access to PubMed provides links to ~2500 full-text journals (more than 50% of the journals covered in PubMed).

AltHealthWatch

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full-text articles for more than 180 international and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

CINAHL

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, directly providing online full text through links within the database, or through the FIND IT button.

Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts provides worldwide coverage of every area of the life sciences. It provides citations to over 4,000 research journals in areas that include anatomy, clinical medicine, immunology and pharmacology.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

IPA provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature. It indexes the literature of pharmacy practice, including state pharmacy journals, legislation, regulations, and ethics. It also includes abstracts of presentations at the annual American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy meeting.

MicromedexMicromedex Access Restricted

Micromedex is a collection of many different drug databases, including Martindale, the Physician's Desk Reference (PDR), DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, POISONDEX, and several alternative medicine databases. Drugs can be searched by trade name, generic name, or even "street" name. Note: limited access.

More Databases

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)

Native American Ethnobotany (from the Univ. of MI-Dearborn)

databases a-z | databases by topic