Skip to main content

Full Library Hours
Available Equipment
Contact Us

Clinical Resources: Apps

Clinical Apps (UW Subscription)

 UpToDate 

  1. Go to UpToDate from a computer/device on the UW IP network (or if you are off-campus, use your UW Net ID/password to access UptoDate via the Ebling website). 
  2. Click “Log In/Register” link in top right corner.
  3. Complete all fields and create an UpToDate username & password
  4. Download UpToDate app onto your device
  5. Login to the app with your UpToDate username & password

    You will be asked to log-in at least once a month from a UW-IP networked device. If you are off-campus, access UptoDate via the Ebling Library (with your UW Net ID/Password), then log-in to your UptoDate account.

Drug Reference app for iPhone/iTouch and iPad  MICROMEDEX Drug Reference  

On-the-go access to trusted drug information. Once downloaded, an internet connection is not required. Micromedex Drug Reference is part of the UW-Madison online subscription to Micromedex

  1. Login to Micromedex through the Ebling Library website.
  2. Click on the “mobileMicromedex” link near the top of the application.
  3. Refer to the detailed downloading instructions, which include your password for activating the mobile app at no charge.

Drug Interactions app for iPhone/iTouch and iPad MICROMEDEX Drug Interactions 

Allows users to check a patient’s entire medication list simultaneously for potentially harmful interactions and view severity ratings that range from contraindicated to minor. Once downloaded, an internet connection is not required.  Micromedex Drug Interactions is part of the UW-Madison online subscription to Micromedex. 

  1. Login to Micromedex through the Ebling Library website.
  2. Click on the “mobileMicromedex” link near the top of the application.
  3. Refer to the detailed downloading instructions, which include your password for activating the mobile app at no charge.

IV Compatibility app for iPhone/iTouch and iPad MICROMEDEX IV Compatibility 

The largest, most comprehensive IV compatibility resource.Once downloaded, an internet connection is not required. Micromedex IV Compatibility is part of the UW-Madison online subscription to Micromedex

  1. Login to Micromedex through the Ebling Library website.
  2. Click on the “mobileMicromedex” link near the top of the application.
  3. Refer to the detailed downloading instructions, which include your password for activating the mobile app at no charge.

 Access Medicine 

From McGraw-Hill Medical includes: Quick Medical Dx & Tx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, a differential diagnosis tool, and  Diagnostic Tests (from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests).

  1. Go to AccessMedicine from a computer/device on the UW IP network.
  2. Create a personal account from the drop-down menu in top right corner.
  3. Complete all fields and create an AccessMedicine username & password.
  4. Download AccessMedicine app onto your device.
  5. Login to the app with your AccessMedicine username & password.

Note: You will be asked to log-in at least once a every 90 days from a UW-IP networked device. If you are off-campus, access AcessMedicine via the Ebling Library, then log-in to your personal account.

Productivity Apps (free or low-cost)

 Evernote 

Allows users to take notes, snap photos, create to-do lists, scan business cards, record voice reminders--and it makes everything searchable.


 ColorNote 

 A simple notepad app. It gives you a quick and simple notepad editing experience when you write notes, memo, email, message, shopping list and to do list. 


 LastPass 

Password manager that saves your passwords and gives you secure access to them from every computer and mobile device.


 iAnnotate PDF 

Use to read, mark up, and share PDF, DOC, PPT and image files. 


 PDF expert 

Allows marking up of pdf documents with highlights and handwriting, inserting text and stamps, signing and even merging PDFs. Also allows for filling out PDF forms on your device. 


 content/attachments/1039-box.net-app-icon.jpg/ UW Madison Box 

Box is a file-syncing storage service that you can link to your UW-Madison Box account. Your UW Box account allows you 50 GB of free storage!

Clinical Apps (free or low-cost)

 Calculate by QxMD 

Medical calculator with more than 150 unique calculators and decision support tools. Just download from your mobile device's app/play store.


 Mediquations Medical Calculator 

The most comprehensive medical calculator for your device with 232 formulas and scoring tools.


 AHRQ ePSS 

Developed to assist primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Just download from your mobile device's app/play store.


 ePocrates (basic) 

Free basic version includes a drug database, interaction checker, pill ID and tools. Other versions require an annual subscription fee. Please note that ePocrates no longer provides free premium versions to medical students. Medical, Nursing, PA and other health sciences students can receive a 50% discount for premium products such as Epocrates Essentials. 


Image result for medscape app icon Medscape 

A multipurpose app that includes medical news, sections for drugs, diseases & conditions, clinical procedures, a drug Interaction checker, and more.


 iRadiology 

A catalog of over 500 radiology cases designed to help medical students and residents improve their plain film, CT, and MRI reading skills.  


 ECG Guide 

It is designed as a learning tool for those still training as well as a reliable reference for more experienced interpreters of ECGs and ECG rhythms.


 Eponyms 

A short description of more than 1700 common medical eponyms to your device. A free version is available for students.


 Diagnosaurus® DDx 

Helps users perform differential diagnosis by browsing/searching over 1,000 diagnoses by organ system, symptom, and disease.


 Medical Spanish 

Top selling medical Spanish phrasebook with audio, search, conjugation, bookmarking, etc.

Book/Journal Apps (free)

 Journal Club 

Reviews the top articles in internal medicine, and puts landmark trials at your fingertips.


 Browzine 

Easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals covering all disciplines available from UW-Madison libraries.


 Docphin 

Keep up with the most popular healthcare news with Medstream, read your favorite journals (from over 5000), save your favorite articles, share folders of articles with others. Allows for UW-Madison users to use NET ID/password for full text articles.


 Read by QxMD 

Provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read topic reviews and search PubMed. Allows for UW-Madison users to use NET ID/password for full text articles.


Docwise 

A personal magazine for physicians that helps you access medical journals, news and topics in one place.


 Feedly 

Browse and share the content of your favorite journals, news sites, tumblr blogs, youtube channels, etc. Instead of having to hunt down for news, Feedly uses RSS to aggregate the contents of sites/blogs and deliver them to your device.


 NEJM This Week 

Provides medical professionals with access to recent articles and a selection of images, audio, and video.