Skip to main content

Full Library Hours
Available Equipment
Contact Us

NIH Public Access Requirement: Using Delegates to Manage your My Bibliography

Delegate Permissions

Delegates are people who are granted permission by My Bibliography owners to view and manage their bibliographies and SciENcv profile. Delegates can:

  • add and remove citations.
  • check whether a manuscript is compliant with the NIH Public Access policy.
  • associate an award with a citation.
  • generate a PDF Compliance report.

My NCBI Delegates FAQ

Appointing a Delegate

Delegate invitations are initiated by My Bibliography collection owners. To invite a delegate:

1. Go to PubMed.

2. Click on Sign in to NCBI and login using your user name and password.

3. Click on your user name to open Accounts Settings.

4. Click the “Add a Delegate” link.

5.  Enter the delegate’s email address. Click OK.

Your delegates will receive an email which they must then confirm by clicking on a link in the email. Instructions are in the box to the right.

Confirming a Delegate Connection

Delegate invitations are initiated by My Bibliography collection owners as shown in the box to the left. You will receive a confirmation email.

To confirm the connection:

1. Sign into your personal My NCBI account before replying to the confirmation email. If you do not yet have an account, register for a My NCBI account.

2. Respond to the confirmation email from My NCBI by clicking on the URL provided.

3. Click on the "Confirm Connection" button.

Under Collections you should see a link for the bibliography for which you are a delegate along with a link to your personal bibliography.

 

Removing a Delegate

To remove delegates:

1. Go to PubMed.

2. Click on Sign in to NCBI and login using your user name and password.

3. Click on your user name to open Accounts Settings.

4. Click the red x next to the delegate you would like to remove.