Skip to main content

Full Library Hours
Available Equipment
Contact Us

Citation Managers: Inserting Citations & Creating Bibliographies

Installing CWYW (Mac)

To download and install the Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in to use with Word 2008 or Word 2011:

  1. Uninstall all older versions of CWYW and close all open windows of Word.
  2. Log in to your EndNote Web account on your Mac, click the Download Installers link at the bottom of any page.
  3. Select the Download Macintosh link to save the EndNoteWeb.exe installer to your computer.
  4. Continue with the installation. Set Select default: through www.myendnoteweb.com.
  5. To verify the installation of CWYW, open Word and look for the Cite While You Write toolbar:

Installing CWYW (PC)

To download and install the Cite While You Write (CWYW) plug-in to use with Word 2007 or Word 2010:

  1. Uninstall all older versions of CWYW and close all open windows of Word and/or Outlook.
  2. Log in to your EndNote Web account on your PC, click the Download Installers link at the bottom of any page.
  3. Select the Download Windows link to save the EndNoteWeb.exe installer to your computer.
  4. Click the Run button (or Open depending on your browser) when prompted in the 'Download Complete' window.
  5. If prompted to confirm the publisher, select Run.
  6. If prompted, select whether or not you would like EndNote Web to import direct export files from data provider web sites.
  7. Continue with the installation. Set Select default: through www.myendnoteweb.com.
  8. To verify the installation of CWYW, open Word and look for the Cite While You Write toolbar:

Inserting references

To insert a reference from your EndNote Web library:

  1. Open your Word document
  2. Place the cursor in the precise location where the reference should appear, 
  3. Click on the Find Citations icon and enter your search term (e.g. author's name) for the reference you require. Highlight the reference and click on Insert or the drop down arrow for other options.

Each time you find and insert a citation in your document, the bibliography automatically formats according to the style selected. (Note you can only use the styles provided by EndNote Web).You can change the bibliographic styles from the Style: drop down menu.

Creating an Indepentent Bibliography

You can create an independent bibliography by going to Format and Bibliography 

  1. Selecting the group of references you want to place in a bibliography. [Note: selected references can be placed in a quick list beforehand by selecting the check box next to the reference and clicking the Copy to Quick List button] 
  2. Select a bibliographic style.
  3. Select a file format. RTF works well with Microsoft Word. This file can be saved, emailed or printed.

Note: References copied to the Quick List (temporary folder) remain during your active session in EndNote Web. Once you log out of your library or your session expires, the quick list is cleared.